Scientific activities

The scientific policy of PHYSBIO is determined by strategic goals aimed at solving practical world-level tasks in the field of diagnostics and therapy at the cellular level of socially significant human diseases.

The main tasks of PHYSBIO are:

  • Conducting research in the field of breakthrough biomedical technologies for diagnostics and therapy of dangerous diseases with the involvement of students.
  • Conversion of research results into new technologies, patenting and commercialization of results, creation of new start-ups.
  • Organization based on PHYSBIO Center for Translational Medicine

 

The main directions of scientific research

 

  1. New materials and methods of nanotechnology.

The project envisages the development of new physicochemical methods for the production of ultrapure solid and hybrid nanomaterials for biomedicine, which possess the properties of biodegradability and bioresorption, and the development on their basis of new sparing methods of malignant formations at the nano level. The main participants are PHYSBIO partners: FIAN, MSU, RSCC. N.N. Blokhin, Aix-Marseille University (France), University of Lyon (France), SUNY at Buffalo (USA).

 

  1. New technologies, devices and nanophotosensitizers for diagnosis and therapy.

Development of new medical devices and instruments that allow to conduct diagnostics and therapy of diseases using nanophotosensitizers. Main organizations and leaders – partners PHYSBIO: N.N. Burdenko Institute of Neurosurgery., N.N. Blokhin CRC, A.F. Tsyb MRNС, Institute for Laser Technologies in Medicine and Metrology (Ulm, Germany), University of Lorraine (France).

 

  1. Promising technologies of nuclear medicine.

The direction calls for the development of new methods for diagnosis and therapy of cancer diseases using new biocompatible and biodegradable nanomaterials as vectors for the targeted delivery of radionuclides. The main organizations and leaders are PHYSBIO partners: A.F. Tsyb MRNС, A.I. Leipunsky SSC RF-IPPE, A.I. Burnazyan FMBС.

 

  1. Development of diagnostic nanoprobes based on highly-oriented conjugates of biocompatible fluorescent nanoparticles and single-domain antibodies for early diagnosis of cancer and imaging of tumors “in vivo”.

Within the framework of ICENAP project of the European Community “Horizon 2020”, new diagnostic systems for early detection of diseases based on microchip technology will be created, allowing to carry out diagnostics in a variety of parameters and taking into account the individual characteristics of the patient. Russian and foreign partners: IBCh RAS, N.N. Blokhin Cancer Research Center, University of Reims Champagne-Ardenne (France), Cancer Research Center of Marseille (France), Max Planck Institute of Experimental Medicine (Germany).

 

  1. Methods of computer nanomedicine.

It is planned to develop new high-performance computer image recognition methods for the purposes of early diagnosis and treatment of cancer. It is planned to develop integrated intellectual systems that combine promising diagnostic methods to support the adoption of medical solutions based on expert technologies and knowledge bases. The main organizations and leaders are partners of PHYSBIO: N.N. Blokhin Cancer Research Center, University Medical Center Hamburg-Eppendorf (Hamburg, Germany), FMBA of Russia, A.N. Bach NBRI of the RAS.

 

The solution of the tasks of PHYSBIO in the sphere of innovative activity includes:

 

  • Commercialization of the results of intellectual and scientific and technical activities by creating small businesses and start-ups in the innovation field, selling licenses for the use of patents and know-how.
  • Development of business-oriented projects PHYSBIO. In collaboration with “Kaluga pharmaceutical cluster” a testing laboratory for materials of “clean rooms” will be created.
  • Implementation of new unique materials (quantum dots, plasmon nanostructures, nanophotosensitizers, biodegradable silicon nanoparticles, etc.), new ultrasensitive methods of diagnostics and therapy that take into account individual features of the patient, medical systems for the implementation of gentle methods of therapies of malignant formations at the nano-level.

 

 

The solution of the tasks of PHYSBIO in the field of the development of translational medicine includes:

 

  • Development of the Center for Translational Medicine on the basis of PHYSBIO and partners of PHYSBIO – the institutes of SC Rosatom, the enterprises of the Kaluga pharmaceutical cluster (KFK), the Russian Cancer Research Center. N.N. Blokhin, NIIRTs of the Ministry of Health of Russia, Scientific Research Institute of Neurosurgery. N.N. Burdenko, Clinic of the Federal Medical and Biological Agency (FMBA).
  • The development, organized in 2016, of the Alliance of Translational Medicine (ATM) in conjunction with the National Research Nizhny Novgorod State University (UNN) them. NI Lobachevsky, National Research Tomsk State University (TSU) and the Center for Strategic Research “North-West” (CSR NW).
  • Development of new research topics within the ATM, such as the development of medicinal media, the organization of a system for collecting and processing personalized patient data.
  • Intensification and acceleration of the development of medicines and introduction of biomedical technologies developed in PHYSBIO into preclinical and clinical trials.
  • Development and implementation of networked master’s and postgraduate programs in training specialists in the field of ATM research.
  • Problems in the development of translational medicine will be addressed through the following initiatives:
  • Development of partnerships and joint R & D and R & D with PHYSBIO partners in the field of translational medicine
  • Conducting joint research and development activities with partners of PHYSBIO on ATM
  • Creation within the ATM Center of competencies of the National Technology Initiative in the HealthNet segment.
  • Organization of a Digital Laboratory within the ATM framework that provides processing of a large number of personified patient data, image recognition systems, decision making systems.
  • Development of PHYSBIO competencies in the ATM structure in the field of new nanomaterials and technologies for early diagnostics and therapy of dangerous diseases at the cellular level, creation of new therapeutic agents and pharmaceuticals, including radiopharmaceuticals (nuclear medicine), systems for supporting medical solutions based on digital imaging technologies.

Направления научной деятельности

Научная политика ИФИБ определяется стратегическими целями, направленными на решение практикориентированных задач мирового уровня в области диагностики и терапии на клеточном уровне социально-значимых заболеваний человека.

Основными задачами ИФИБ являются:

  • Проведение исследований в области прорывных биомедицинских технологий для диагностики и терапии опасных заболеваний с привлечением к исследованиям студентов.
  • Конвертация результатов научных исследований в новые технологии, патентование и коммерциализация результатов, создание новых стартапов.
  • Организация на базе ИФИБ Центра трансляционной медицины

 

Основные направления научных исследований

 

  1. Новые материалы и методы нанотераностики.

Проект предусматривает разработку новых физико-химических методов для получения сверхчистых твердотельных и гибридных наноматериалов для биомедицины, обладающих свойствами биодеградируемости и биорезорбции, разработка на их основе новых щадящих методов тераностики злокачественных образований на нано-уровне. Основные участники – партнеры ИФИБ: ФИАН, МГУ, РОНЦ им. Н.Н. Блохина, Aix-Marseille University (Франция), University of Lyon (Франция), SUNY at Buffalo (США).

 

  1. Новые технологии, приборы и нанофотосенсибилизаторы для диагностики и терапии.

Разработка новых медицинских приборов и инструментов, позволяющих проводить диагностику и терапию заболеваний с применением нанофотосенсибилизаторов.  Основные организации и лидеры – партнеры ИФИБ: Институт нейрохирургии им. Н.Н. Бурденко, РОНЦ им. Н.Н. Блохина, МРНЦ им. А.Ф. Цыба, Institute for Laser Technologies in Medicine and Metrology (г. Ульм, Германия), University of Lorraine (Франция).

 

  1. Перспективные технологии ядерной медицины.

Направление предусматривает разработку новых методов диагностики и терапии онкологических заболеваний с использованием новых биосовместимых и биодеградируемых наноматериалов в качестве векторов для адресной доставки радионуклидов. Основные организации и лидеры – партнеры ИФИБ: МРНЦ им. А.Ф. Цыба, ГНЦ РФ-ФЭИ им. А.И. Лейпунского, ФМБЦ им. А.И. Бурназяна.

 

  1. Разработка диагностических нанозондов на основе высокоориентированных конъюгатов биосовместимых флуоресцентных наночастиц и однодоменных антител для ранней диагностики рака и визуализации опухолей in vivo.

В рамках проекта ICENAP Европейского Сообщества «Horizon- 2020”: From materials science and engineering to innovation for Europe будут созданы новые диагностические системы раннего обнаружения заболеваний на основе техники микрочипов, позволяющих проводить диагностику по множеству параметров и с учетом индивидуальных особенностей пациента. Основные участники — российские и зарубежные партнеры: ИБХ РАН, РОНЦ им. Блохина, University of Reims Champagne-Ardenne (Франция), Cancer Research Center of Marseille (Франция), Max Planck Institute of Experimental Medicine (Германия).

 

  1. Методы компьютерной наномедицины.

Предполагается развитие новых высокопроизводительных компьютерных методов распознавания образов для целей ранней диагностики и терапии онкологических заболеваний. Планируется разработка интегрированных интеллектуальных систем, объединяющих перспективные диагностические методы для поддержки принятия врачебных решений на основе экспертных технологий и баз знаний. Основные организации и лидеры – партнеры ИФИБ: РОНЦ им. Н.Н. Блохина, University Medical Center Hamburg-Eppendorf (г. Гамбург, Германия), ФМБА России, ИНБИ им. А.Н. Баха РАН.

 

 

Решение задач ИФИБ в сфере инновационной деятельности включает в себя:

  • Коммерциализацию результатов интеллектуальной и научно-технической деятельности путем создания малых предприятий и стартапов в инновационной сфере, продажи лицензий на использование полученных патентов и ноу-хау.
  • Развитие бизнес-ориентированных проектов ИФИБ. Совместно с НП «Калужский фармацевтический кластер» будет создана испытательная лаборатория для материалов «чистых помещений».
  • Внедрение в практику и коммерциализацию в создаваемых стартапах и спин-офф компаниях, специализирующихся в области биомедицины, разработанных новых уникальных материалов (квантовые точки, плазмонные наноструктуры, нанофотосенсибилизаторы, биодеградируемые наночастицы кремния и др.), новых ультрачувствительных методов диагностики и терапии, учитывающих индивидуальные особенности пациента, медицинских систем для реализации щадящих методов тераностики злокачественных образований на нано-уровне.

 

Решение задач ИФИБ в сфере развития трансляционной медицины включает в себя:

  • Развитие Центра трансляционной медицины на базе ИФИБ и партнеров ИФИБ – Институтов ГК «Росатом», предприятий Калужского фармацевтического кластера (КФК), РОНЦ им. Н.Н. Блохина, НМИРЦ Минздрава России, НИИ нейрохирургии им. Н.Н. Бурденко, клиник Федерального медико-биологического агенства (ФМБА).
  • Развитие, организованного в 2016 году, Альянса трансляционной медицины (АТМ) совместно с Национальным исследовательским Нижегородским государственным университетом (ННГУ) им. Н. И. Лобачевского, Национальным исследовательским Томским государственный университетом (ТГУ) и Центром стратегических разработок «Северо-Запад» (ЦСР СЗ).
  • Развитие новых тематик исследований в составе АТМ, таких как разработка лекарственных сред, организация системы сбора и обработки персонифицированных данных пациентов.
  • Интенсификация и ускорение разработки лекарственных препаратов и внедрения разработанных в ИФИБ биомедицинских технологий в доклинические и клинические испытания.
  • Разработка и реализация сетевых образовательных программ магистратуры и аспирантуры по подготовке специалистов в Сфере исследований АТМ.

Задачи в области развития трансляционной медицины будут решаться посредством следующих инициатив:

  • Развитие партнерских отношений и проведение совместных НИР и ОКР с партнерами ИФИБ в области трансляционной медицины
  • Проведение совместных НИР и ОКР с партнерами ИФИБ по АТМ
  • Создание в рамках АТМ Центра компетенций Национальной технологической инициативы в сегменте HealthNet.
  • Организация в рамках АТМ Цифровой лаборатории, обеспечивающей обработку большого числа персонифицированных данных пациентов, систем распознавания образов, систем принятия врачебных решений.
  • Развитие компетенций ИФИБ в структуре АТМ в области новых наноматериалов и технологий для ранней диагностики и терапии опасных заболеваний на клеточном уровне, создания новых терапевтических средств и фармпрепаратов, включая радиофармпрепарты (ядерная медицина), систем поддержки врачебных решений на основе цифровых технологий распознавания образов.